Iowa PCA Honors Four with Annual Awards

November 25, 2019

Throughout Iowa, there are many that work tirelessly on behalf of the underserved. On Tuesday, October 22, the Iowa Primary Care Association had the honor of recognizing four incredible individuals honor their work in the healthcare field in Iowa. 

Miller Meeks2Underserved Champion Award
The Underserved Champion Award is an annual award that recognizes an individual or organization’s commitment to ensuring vulnerable Iowans have access to healthcare services. This year's recipient is Senator Mariannette Miller-Meeks, MD.

Senator Miller-Meeks not only understands the healthcare system, but she’s also open to ideas from a range of perspectives as she crafts legislation with her peers. In particular, she demonstrated this collaborative, open approach when working with Iowa’s community health centers on contraceptive coverage, workforce, Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT), and Medicaid access for legal protected residents. These areas have a positive impact on the lives of health center patients by increasing access to a wide range of healthcare services.

We applaud Dr. Miller-Meeks’ dedication to the underserved in Iowa and are proud to honor her efforts as a champion of healthcare access.

Annual Conference Awards
The Iowa PCA Annual Conference Awards recognizes three individuals from Iowa community health centers who are nominated by colleagues for their exceptional work. This year's recipients are listed below. More information about each awardee can be found at each link.

Unsung Hero AwardMaria Ramos2: Maria Ramos, Human Resources Director, United Community Health Center
As one of the first staff members of United Community Health Center in Storm Lake, Maria has provided over 10 years of service to the mission of the health center and the community. Both inside and outside the clinic walls, Maria is focused being a resource and advocate for the underserved. She is a hero that has given her life to the service of others. 



Outstanding Provider AwardDr Pathan: Muhammad Pathan, MD, Internal Medicine Physician, Peoples Community Health Clinic
For over 40 years, Dr. Pathan has provided care at Peoples Community Health Clinic in Waterloo. Formerly serving as medical director, he has helped pave the way for the clinic's growth and success. As a caring and compassionate provider, Dr. Pathan is an inspiration to staff, patients, and community members. 



Carl A. Kulczyk Memorial Awardfrank: Frank LaMere, Board Member, Siouxland Community Health Center
On June 16 of this year, Frank LaMere, a nationally-recognized peace and justice activist, and a board member ofOn June 16 of this year, Frank LaMere, a nationally-recognized peace and justice activist, and a board member ofSiouxland Community Health Center, died after a brief battle with liver duct cancer. During his life, Frank was a well-known advocate for the rights of Native Americans, as well as others through his involvement with the political system, which was recognized with an honorary law degree from Nebraska Wesleyan University for his advocacy work in human rights and civil rights. Frank’s legacy will continue at the Siouxland Community Health Center and throughout the Siouxland and Native American communities.

Congratulations to our winners and thank you for your dedication to the underserved and community health centers.