Congratulations to the 2022 Annual Award Winners!

October 19, 2022

Each year at the Iowa Community Health Conference, we recognize outstanding individuals for their contributions to Iowa’s community health centers. Nominations are submitted by community health center peers and community partners. These individuals are recognized for their dedication to the Health Center Movement and for their extraordinary work on behalf of their peers, patients, and community. 

Ken Jones, DDS - 2022 Carl A. Kulczyk Memorial Award

Ken Jones is awarded the Carl A. Kulczyk Memorial Award. This award is presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to their organization over the course of their tenure at the health center. Jones was born and raised in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. He graduated from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry in 2006 and has served as the Dental Director of River Hills Community Health Center since. Jones is the Dental Director for American Home Finding’s I-Smile Program, a Wapello County Dental Society member, a Community Health Center Representative of the Delta Dental of Iowa Foundation Board of Directors, and an adjunct faculty member for the University of Iowa College of Dentistry.

Nick Hooker, DDS - 2022 Community Impact Award

Nick Hooker is awarded the 2022 Community Impact Award. This award recognizes an individual that has made an impact on both their community health center and their community. Nominations are submitted by community partners and other stakeholders to celebrate the nominee’s dedication to improving the lives and health of others. Hooker was born and raised in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, and graduated from the University of Iowa’s School of Dentistry. He has served as PHC’s Dental Director for 20 years. Hooker helped to spearhead efforts to open a dental clinic at the Des Moines area homeless shelter. His career was dedicated to providing dental care for under-resourced families and individuals; he retired in December 2021.

LuAnn Duran – 2022 Unsung Hero Award

This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated a level of excellence in their work which distinguishes their services and contributions during the past year. LuAnn Duran is a Financial Counselor at Crescent Community Health Center in Dubuque, Iowa. Duran has spent 26 years in customer service, 23 years in insurance, and 6 years in finance. She has been with Crescent for 6 years and was awarded with the High Performer Award at Crescent’s 2021 Annual Award Ceremony.

Berry Engebretsen, MD – 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award

Berry Engebretsen is awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. Engebretsen attended medical school at the University of Iowa and completed his Family Medicine residency at the University of Miami. Engebretsen founded Primary Health Care in 1980 and has served as a health care provider, executive leader, and Chief Medical Officer. Today, he serves as the Chief Visionary Officer.

Nancy Adrianse – 2022 Impact Award

This award recognizes an individual who has had a significant impact on community health centers, our patients, and the overall well-being of Iowans. Nancy Adrianse is recognized for her work to improve and expand access to oral health services. Adrianse has been one of the Integrated Health Consultants at the Iowa Primary Care Association since July 2011; she is retiring at the end of October. She graduated from Marquette University with a degree in dental hygiene. Prior to working for the Iowa Primary Care Association, she worked as a clinical dental hygienist in an FQHC and for a private nonprofit dental clinic in their school based oral health program. Nancy is a member of the AAPHD, IPHA and NNOHA. Nancy is also a member of the Lifelong Smiles Coalition and the Oral Health Iowa Coalition.

Natalie Schaller, DO

This award recognizes a distinguished provider who exemplifies excellence in clinical practice and demonstrates a dedication to the health center mission and to the patients they serve. Natalie Schaller graduated from the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences with a doctorate degree in osteopathy. She specializes in healthcare and preventative services for women and children, chronic disease management, adult medicine, teen and adolescent medicine, and gynecology.

Learn more about our annual awards and award recipients on our website