Eight Honored with 2018 Iowa PCA Awards

October 23, 2018

On Wednesday, October 3, the Iowa Primary Care Association presented eight incredible individuals with awards to honor and recognize their work in the health care field in Iowa.

 Impact Awards
impact awards

This year, the Iowa PCA presented three individuals with the 2018 Impact Award to honor those who have made a significant impact on community health centers, the patients we serve, and the overall wellbeing of Iowans through their work to improve health care services in Iowa. This year’s recipients are:

  • Julie Woodyard, MA, Chief Executive Officer, Crescent Community Health Center
  • Terry Meek, Project Coordinator, Division of Health Promotion and Chronic Disease Prevention, Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention, Iowa Department of Public Health
  • Denise Wheeler, MS, CNM, ARNP, Family Planning Coordinator, Family Health Bureau, Iowa Department of Public Health

Annual Conference Awards
conf awards

The Iowa PCA Annual Conference Awards recognizes three individuals from Iowa community health centers who are nominated by colleagues for their exceptional work. This year's recipients are:

  • Unsung Hero Award: Diane Yang, Front Office and Medical Records Supervisor, United Community Health Center
  • Outstanding Provider Award: David Yurdin, PA-C, AAHIVMS, Clinical Director, Project of Primary Health Care
  • Carl A. Kulczyk Memorial Award: Rick Johnson, Chief Executive Officer, River Hills Community Health Center

Underserved Champion Award

The Underserved Champion Award is an annual award that recognizes an individual or organization that is dedicated to ensuring access to quality, affordable health care for all. This year's recipient is Dr. Peter Damiano, the director of the University of Iowa Public Policy Center and a professor in the UI Department of Preventive and Community Dentistry.  

Lifetime Achievement Award
The Iowa PCA presented Ted Boesen with the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his leadership, commitment, and dedication to Iowa’s community health centers and the Iowa Primary Care Association. This prestigious award is intended to be awarded in special circumstances where someone has gone above and beyond to dedicate their careers to advance the work of Iowa’s community health centers. Ted recently announced his plans to retire from the Iowa PCA in June 2019 after 18 years of service to Iowa’s health centers.

The Iowa PCA, along with colleagues and some old friends, also honored Ted with a surprise program that focused on his work at the Iowa PCA. We'd like to thank Congressman David Young, Craig Kennedy, Tom Bowman, Dr. Bery Engebretsen, and Ron Kemp for sharing memories and stories about Ted over the years.